Milan I

Matt and I just returned from a short trip to Italy. We spent the weekend in Milan and then took the train up to Lake Como for a couple of days. It’s been a couple of months since I last traveled and I could feel some wanderlust building up – I was very ready to get on the plane and see somewhere new!

We had a lot of fun in Milan. The city doesn’t have as many tourist sites as Rome or Florence, but that made it perfect for exploring in a weekend and feeling like we got to see everything we wanted without being too rushed.

I arrived on Friday morning while Matt was still en route from a conference he attended for work. I spent the afternoon wandering the old part of the city on my own until Matt arrived in the evening. We stayed at an Airbnb near the Duomo, and it was a beautiful day to sit in the piazza and enjoy the sunshine. Right next to the Duomo is the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II, a gorgeous upscale shopping centre.

After a quick break for gelato, I wandered around the city admiring some of the beautiful architecture. I met Matt at the train station when he arrived from Pisa and we enjoyed some delicious fresh pasta for dinner.

IMG_3944
The view from the front balcony of our apartment for the weekend

 

IMG_3981
And the view from the rear balcony

 

IMG_3945
One of my favourite things about European cities is when you find old buildings like this nestled in between modern ones. I never figured out what this one was, but it just appeared among some modern clothing stores.

 

IMG_3948
The entrance to the Galleria Vittoria Emanuele

 

IMG_3951
Inside the Galleria

 

IMG_3952
Looking up towards the glass ceiling and the beautiful detail on the store fronts

 

IMG_3954
The Prada store

 

IMG_3962
The front of the Duomo. They were setting up for a concert by the Milan Orchestra later on in the weekend.

 

IMG_3966
A beautiful fountain in a pleasant piazza

 

IMG_3977
We saw several of these smart cars in the city. With the narrow and winding roads here, they definitely would have come in handy.

 

IMG_3972
A gorgeous old bell tower in a quiet corner of the city

 

IMG_3973
Some of the amazing detail on the carvings around a window. I think this was part of the university. There were maybe 10 windows in a row along the building like this and each one was different.

 

IMG_3983
Matt finally made it to Milan and we enjoyed some wine, beer, and pasta before watching the opening ceremony of the Euro Cup

Leave a comment